Working in the FACT cafe

Tuesday, 22 July, 2008

They’re playing Joni Mitchell.

Screenplay: Arthouse [working title]
Finally got all the scribbled notes re. scene ideas and plotting out of my current notebook – a complete mess of journal and writing ideas – and into my Celtx draft. Almost all of them, anyway. Think I might like the thing again. We’ll see how long that lasts. Some of the notes have notes to go with them, like “Remember: this isn’t fucking Richard Curtis” and “I really need to be working on this on my laptop”. Helpful.

Paragon [working title]
This started life as my 2006 attempt at NaNoWriMo – of which I got about 8,000 words written before submitting to my incurable perfectionist of an Inner Editor – but the idea and world just would not leave me alone and resurrected itself in the form of my (‘winning’) Script Frenzy 2008 effort, a script for a three-part miniseries in the style of the re-imagined ‘Battlestar Galactica’. I didn’t finish the script, though I passed a hundred pages, and now I’m thinking it might work better as a series of novellas, or collection of short stories? I could probably stand to finish the script before I look at switching media. As a script, the narrative was getting a bit expositional by necessity, but as prose I could jump around and do the multi-narrative thing so much more effectively. (From the notebook: “And just what is wrong with writing sci-fi? Atwood wrote sci-fi! Kind of. Shut up, I love sci-fi.”) Whatever the format, the story/characters/mythology won’t leave me alone.

Play: [still needs a working title]
I really don’t see enough plays to be entirely comfortable working on one but I’m pretty certain that the idea could only work on stage. Will have a go and report back.

Blog
I started keeping an anonymous, my-random-life style blog. Still wishing I was as snappy as Charlie Brooker.

Leave a Reply

