Musings

Monday, 18 August, 2008

I talked to my brother tonight when I got home and suddenly I was a person again.

Typing is not natural to me – in writing, that is – but it’s faster, so less is lost, but there’s a barrier. And the backspace key. (Soon to be the ‘delete’ key, once I have my Mac.)

EMBASSY [screenplay]
Haven’t mentioned this yet, huh? Started life as my attempt at Script Frenzy 2007 and was then lost in the great computer crash of that same year. I still like the basic set-up, the protagonist, the themes etc., but the intricacies of the plot are nowhere. I know what I want to see but it doesn’t make sense yet. It’s high concept and dystopian future. In fact who am I kidding, I’m basically writing Children of Men, only not that subject matter. Hmm.

THE CENTRE [screen drama]
Yes, another screen/teleplay, but the story refuses to tell itself in any other way. I have some exciting scenes and vivid characters mapped. Hopefully they’ll stay exciting and vivid when I get further into the thing. I also have a kind-of plot, which is unusual, so maybe this one’s a keeper.

POETRY
Several first drafts of things that kind of interest me. Very clumsy stuff but maybe some sparks, not sure yet.

Leave a Reply

